Staying Here with the Dogs

I’ve been off from work for several days and, since it’s Sunday and I have to return to work tomorrow, like clockwork, my mind wanted to go into future projections about work.  How many emails will I have tomorrow?  Did my department perform up to standards while I was gone?  Did everyone make it to work?  Did all the work get done?  Will there be any customer complaints I have to address?  Did everyone get along with each other and work together?   I never have ‘worried’ about that kind of stuff very much while I was off, realizing a long time ago  that there’s no sense worrying about things you can’t do anything about.  But, this had become a routine for me to wonder about these kinds of things that day/night before returning to work.  Most of the time, everything had gone smoothly but, on occasion, there were problems that needed my immediate attention upon returning, which is what started that pattern.

Each time one of these thoughts has popped into my head today, I have been able to avoid participating in those thoughts, remaining Here, in this moment, simply by focusing on breathing.  I’ve also gotten assistance form my dogs.  Dogs are cool beings.  And, if you pay attention to them, they can show you what it means to be in the present moment because, that’s where they are all of the time.  I can go out to feed the chickens and, as soon as I walk out the door, all of the dogs are happy to see me – running beside me until I reach down and pet them.  Then, when I come out of the chicken pen, it’s the same scenario as I come back toward the house.   None of them are too crazy about the water hose, when I turn the water on, but they sure seem to enjoy lapping up that cold well water when I give them fresh water.

It’s been a hotter than normal month, with an average temperature of 104 F (40 C).  (Historical average temperature here for July is 94 deg F (34.4 C))  These past few days have been the hottest – today it’s 108 F (42.2 C) – so, since I’ve been home, I’ve been checking on them frequently.  There’s a pond on the property across the road, and they’ve spent a lot of time ‘going swimming’ (some of them come home completely drenched and others apparently just stand in the water up to their belly).  They’re just happy beings – ready to get a little attention then, go lay in the dirt in the shade for a while.  When they get hot, they’ll head back over to the pond.   They don’t lay their thinking or worrying about what they’ve done or, what they’re going to do in the future.  They Live in the present moment  – all of the time.  They don’t worry about yesterday or tomorrow.  They’re simply Here, providing a great example, as equal beings, for me to follow.

So, when my mind wants to wander, or tempts me to participate in thoughts with these picture presentation images of past memories, I do self-forgiveness on the thought, and go check on my dogs.

Desteni Universe

Equal Money Website

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Staying Here with the Dogs

  1. tobyzwebsite says:

    I am with you on that note, Dogs Rule or they should.

  2. bestforalllife says:

    Dogs or Gods

Leave a Reply

