Day 5: Speak Up for Those Who Can’t

A child under the age of  5  just died – due to hunger related causes – in a world of 7 billion people that produces enough food to feed 12 billion.  Oh, another just died…  And, it will happen again in 5 seconds – and then 5 seconds after that…  12 children every minute…  720 every hour…   17,280 every day…  6,307,200 over the course of a year…   And that’s only the children who are dying from hunger related causes.  If we add in those children that are dying due  to lack of access to clean drinking water and poor sanitation, that total jumps to 25,000 every day – that’s 9 million, 125 thousand  CHILDREN every year…  Over 9 million CHILDREN are being ALLOWED to DIE every year …   from PREVENTABLE CAUSES…   If this isn’t the greatest atrocity and manifestation of abuse in the history of mankind, then I don’t know what is…

Artwork by: Ann Van den Broeck

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to participate within and as civilization’s money system that accepts the existence of starvation.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to participate in distractions to keep me from considering those that are dying every day from preventable causes.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to believe that I was not responsible for the suffering and abuse existent in this world.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to turn a blind eye to those in need, avoiding pictures and stories about those less fortunate who were simply born in the wrong place, at the wrong time, and who will never know anything but suffering in their short lives.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to exist in separation from my fellow beings on this planet, instead of realizing that we are all one and equal, each an equal part of the whole of existence.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to ignore the plight of the less fortunate, simply existing within my own little world, oblivious to the inequality and abuse both caused and perpetuated by and within this current monetary system.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to participate and support this system of consumerism that has failed in providing for the needs of all but instead has benefited a few at the expense of many.

I commit myself to supporting the implementation of an Equal Money System, whereby all will be guaranteed a dignified life, providing all with the basic necessities of food, shelter, access to clean water, equal access to healthcare and, equal access to education, and speaking up for those who are unable to speak for themselves in supporting creation of a world that’s Best for All.

Join us for discussions about Equality and creating a world that’s Best for All on the Forum at Desteni.org and, research and discuss the Equal Money System Solution at Equalmoney.org.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

