Day 22: Redefining the Word – Responsibility

For perspective redefining words, see EARTH’S JOURNEY TO LIFE, Day 4 Redefining Words through Day 13 Redefining Words (Part 10)    

Self-forgiveness statements:

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to connect the word ‘responsibility’ to a positive charge.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to believe that the word ‘responsibility’ could have a positive charge instead of realizing that a word in and of itself is neither positive nor negative but can only exist as such in the mind.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to connect the word ‘responsibility’ to the memory of babysitting my younger siblings and connecting that within a definition in my mind of ‘being in charge’.

I forgive myself for having accepted and allowed myself to separate myself from the word ‘responsibility’ through defining responsibility as ‘being in charge’ in separation of myself.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to connect the word ‘responsibility’ to the words:  freedom, authority, accountability, trustworthiness, management and working; thus separating myself from the word ‘responsibility’ by defining it in association with these terms in separation from myself.

Gathering Information stage

Self-Allocation:

When I was young, my parents were strict, and emphasized the importance of accepting responsibility for my actions.  In that regard, it was about accepting/suffering the consequences for breaking a rule.  But, they also gave me opportunities where I could accept additional responsibility, such as taking care of my younger siblings.  It didn’t take me long to learn that there was a ‘reward’ for taking on more responsibility – and doing it well – which would be more freedom, in the way of being allowed to do more ‘stuff’, such as going over to a friend’s house to play, or being allowed to ride my bike for longer periods.  I couldn’t count the number of times that I heard my dad say that freedom and responsibility went hand in hand.  I wasn’t near as strict with my own children but, I did stick to that same basic philosophy, which also carried over to my working career.   With over 35 years in some kind of management position, the key to my ‘success’ has been my expectation that employees accept full responsibility for the performance of not only their specific job duties but, seeing their responsibility for the overall performance of our department.   So, in this sense, it has been not only holding people accountable for their actions but, expecting them to look at the ‘big picture’ in doing whatever might be necessary to meet the needs of customers.

Definition:

 re·spon·si·bil·i·ty  noun \ri-ˌspän(t)-sə-ˈbi-lə-tē\

Merriam-Webster

 the quality or state of being responsible: as a : moral, legal, or mental accountability     b : reliabilitytrustworthiness

something for which one is responsible : burden <has neglected his responsibilities>

Oxford Dictionary

the state or fact of having a duty to deal with something or of having control over someone:  women bear children and take responsibility for childcare

the state or fact of being accountable or to blame for something: the group has claimed responsibility for a string of murders

 [in singular] (responsibility to/towards) a moral obligation to behave correctly towards or in respect of: individuals have a responsibility to control their behaviour

the opportunity or ability to act independently and take decisions without authorization:  we expect individuals to take on more responsibility

[count noun] (often responsibilities) a thing which one is required to do as part of a job, role, or legal obligation: he will take over the responsibilities of Overseas Director

Sounding of the word:   (and creatively seeing/identifying words within the word)

re-spon-si-bil-i-ty

response

respond

ability

spon(ge)

sibling(s)

reason

sensibility

bil(l)s

Investigating the word

Looking at the words within the word:

Re-spon  = response  =  something constituting a reply or, a reaction to some kind of stimulus.

Re-spon  = respond  =  to reply or answer.  Within these words, for instance, in my job, I regularly experience myself as responsible for providing answers.  It seems that it’s my responsibility to provide answers to a lot of people – that is actually information they ‘should’ know but maybe weren’t trained properly or, forgot how to find the information they need or, hope there’s someone like me who can figure out what they need to know.   Most of the time, I’m happy to fulfil this role and enjoy doing it, as I see it as part of my job  but, there are occasions that I’ll have some backchat in the form of resentment, thus indicating that I will at times exist in a negative polarity with the word respond and a point of separation with the word responsibility.

si-bil-i-ty = ability =  quality or state of being able to do ‘something’.   For the most part, I’ve seen and experienced my ability/abilities as sufficient to do whatever I needed to do in the fulfilment of my responsibilities.

-spon- = sponge – In relating sponge to responsibility, I can see how I experienced myself as absorbing additional responsibility in relation to my younger siblings ( si-bil-i = sibling ).  I was responsible enough to be responsible for taking care of my 6 younger siblings.  I was kind of bossy as a kid and rather liked the idea of ‘being in charge’.  I also enjoyed the recognition/approval I’d receive from my parents for doing it well.  For example, when I babysat my younger brothers and sisters, our house was always cleaner when my parents got back than it was when they left.  And, as stated earlier, I was rewarded for this.  This ‘taking care of’ mentality ‘stuck’ with me over the years too, transforming into this compulsion to please everyone – make sure everyone is ‘happy’.  I became an organizer and a peacemaker, getting along with everyone and making sure conflict was avoided.   I never wanted  my parents to get upset – which goes way back to when I was 8 or 9 years old and there were some arguments/fights involving my parents and/or my older siblings that really upset me and I would take care of and comfort the ‘little kids’.

A typographical error revealed the following two words:  Reason  & sensibility.  What’s interesting about these, in relation to the word ‘responsibility’, is that throughout my life, in defining myself as being responsible and having a willingness to accept responsibility, I have included within that definition that I am not only reasonable ( as in my expectations of myself and others) but am also capable of ‘reasoning’ with others – to get them to go along with my idea(s).  This also relates to avoiding conflict growing up – for example, I would try to ‘reason’ with my parents as to why I should be allowed to do something, such as being able to go somewhere or to extend my curfew, instead of arguing or throwing a tantrum/fit that could lead to punishment instead of a calm decision being made.  Also, I have always tried to be and considered myself as sensible, using common sense in my approach/views/decisions/rationale to almost everything I do.

-bil- = bill = an amount of money required to be paid for a good or service.  Sure, there are other definitions of ‘bill’ but, this is the definition that I connect to responsibility, whereas I was the primary financial provider for my family and accepted the responsibility  to make enough money to ‘pay the bills’.  This task is one I always found to be stressful.  It didn’t matter if Ihad just gotten paid and had enough money to pay the bills, I still experienced myself as being stressed.  I started working a part-time job  when I was 11 years old and have worked ever since.  Actually, I have always enjoyed working and, to make ends meet earning  a second income, I worked a lot of weekends doing house painting for about 20 years.  But, I never liked paying the bills – actually performing the task.  I could and would but, I didn’t enjoy it.  I’d put it off ‘til I had to do it.  So, this would be the negative side of my experience with responsibility.

Self-forgiveness on word investigation:

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to connect my responsibility to respond or provide responses within my job duties with the words enjoy or resentment.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to connect the words enjoy and resentment to/as positive and/or negative charges, respectively, as neither word, in and of itself can be positively or negatively charged but, can only exist as such within my own mind, in separation from myself.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to separate myself from the word ‘respond’ as it relates to my experience with the word responsibility.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to separate myself from the word ‘response’ as it relates to my experience with the word responsibility.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to connect the word ability, as it relates to my experience with the word responsibility, to a positive charge, as the word cannot exist as either positive or negative in and of itself but, can only exist as such within my own mind, in separation from myself.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to separate myself from the word ‘ability’ as it relates to my experience with the word responsibility.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to connect the word ‘sponge’, as it relates to my experience with the word responsibility, to a positive or negative charge, depending on the polarity in which I was experiencing myself, as the word sponge cannot exist as either positive or negative except in my own mind, in separation from myself.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to continue to exist as though the responsibility I had for caring for my younger siblings on the occasions where I was left in charge was/is still in effect as I would make it my responsibility to please everyone and make sure everyone was happy and their needs were taken care of, at family gatherings after we all were grown and had our own families, instead of realizing that each person is responsible for who they are and what they experience and that no one can make another person ‘happy’, as each one of us is responsible for defining that for and by ourselves.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing memories of arguments/fights among/between my older siblings/parents when I was very young, to influence me to the point that, from a starting point of self-interest, I created a fear of conflict within me and, in order to avoid confrontation, I became a people pleaser and peacemaker, seeing it as my responsibility to become the person who made sure everyone was happy and everyone’s needs were being met, in separation from myself.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to connect the words reason and sensibility, as these terms relate to my experience of responsibility, to a positive charge in my mind, in separation from myself.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to create a definition of myself whereby the ability to ‘reason’ and show ‘sensibility’ within my decision making and actions, became part of my definition of myself as being responsible and accepting responsibility to the point that I placed myself on a pedestal and considered myself superior to anyone that did not exhibit these same ‘qualities’, instead of realizing that these were only my opinions of myself and, cannot and do not define me as who I am.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to believe or CONsider that I could be better than any other being, in separation from myself, instead of realizing that my only responsibility is to recognize the individuality and uniqueness of every being as equal and one with myself.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to assign a negative charge to the word ‘bill’ as it relates to my experience of responsibility.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to separate myself from the word ‘bill’ by assigning a negative charge to it, instead of realizing that a word in and of itself cannot have a positive or negative charge as that can only exist in the mind.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to connect the word ‘bill’ to the word stress, in separation from myself.

I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to define the word ‘bill’ within and as the word stress, in separation from myself, as it relates to my experience within and as responsibility.

When and as I see myself assigning a positive or negative charge to a word, in separation of myself, I stop, and I breathe, and I realize that no word or words can exist in polarity – that that can only exist within my own mind – and I remind myself that all words are equal and one as me, and that it’s my responsibility to look at each word within the principle of equality and oneness as what’s best for all.

 Redefining the word, responsibility: 

I see my new definition of responsibility as:   using my abilities of reason and sensibility to respond to any given situation in accordance to/with what’s best for all.

Whenever I see the word responsibility, I remind myself to respond to the situation within the principle of equality in accordance to what’s best for all.

There is no polarity within this new definition and, I can stand by this definition into eternity.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

