Day 30: Partners with Cancer – Day 1 – Holy Crap!

Almost 3 months ago, my Partner told me that her doctor recommended that she go in for a mammogram.  She then disclosed that she had found a lump in her breast and asked her doctor to check it.  That was the first ‘Holy Crap’ moment…  I didn’t hear anything else she said for a few moments…

It is absolutely amazing how fast our mind can take a piece of information and run through multiple scenarios and possible outcomes.  The only thing I knew for sure – right then – was that I didn’t “know enough” and, that I needed to do some serious research.  Later that evening, found over 290 million results to first Google search for “Breast Cancer”.  Another ‘Holy Crap’ moment.

The doctor said sometimes tumors ‘like this’ were benign but, this needed to be checked.  And so it began – the processing of the cancer patient.  Mammogram scheduled for the following  week.

Considered that maybe I should wait until we get some results before I get totally immersed in doing research.  After all, if it’s some benign tumor, I will have done a bunch of research for nothing.  Then, figured what the hell – I need to ‘know’…

mammogram_buttons_600Mammogram gets done.  Result = need to do a biopsy.  OK.  Biopsy scheduled for the following Tuesday.  Waffling on the research, now…  Should I or shouldn’t I?  There’s SO MUCH information – everything from doom and gloom to rainbows and sunshine.  Choose to continue…

I take day off from work because my partner will have some restrictions – no lifting, driving, etc. – after the biopsy.  Ultrasound has to be done first so the depth can be determined for setting the biopsy instrument correctly.  After the biopsy, we’re careful the rest of the day.  Granddaughter doesn’t understand why her Nanna can’t pick her up…

The next afternoon, ‘C’ calls me at work and tells me that the Breast Center called with the results and that it IS cancer.  Another ‘Holy Crap’ moment…  Next step:  schedule appointment with surgeon – which gets set up for the following Tuesday.  And, need to have a MRI and another ultrasound done before that appointment.

Now, it’s full speed ahead with my cancer research – we have a diagnosis .

I didn’t say anything to my partner but, I was NOT looking forward to meeting with the surgeon.  After all, what do surgeons do?  They OPERATE on people.  It seemed like a long week with the anticipation.  When we met with the surgeon, he genuinely seemed to be a nice man.  He did another ultrasound in order to get another measurement of the tumor then proceeded to explain our options.  His recommendation:  complete double mastectomy, then chemotherapy, then radiation.  Holy Crap!

As implied by the title, I will be sharing my perspective of this journey with my partner – the choices and decisions we have faced thus far and, those yet to confront us.   I will also share my perspective of seeing/viewing the necessity of our being/becoming a Partner with Cancer within this process of healing my partner’s physical body.  Additionally, I will look at how a $160 billion industry has evolved as a result of capitalism’s Partnership with Cancer as well as the possibilities that the implementation of the Equal Money System proposed by Desteni will bring to cancer treatment options in the future.  So, there’s more to come…

For additional perspectives, see:

Calling the Beast by it’s Name – Breast Cancer – The Four Laws of Cancer – Day 23

Day 381: Don’t Blame Me! I have a Disease!

Captain’s Log Journey to Life

************************************

Suggested blogs to follow:
Creation Journey to Life
Heaven Journey to Life
Earth Journey to Life
Economist Journey to Life

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 30: Partners with Cancer – Day 1 – Holy Crap!

  1. kimamourette says:

    Thanx for sharing your Journey here Randy!
    Kim

Leave a Reply

